Jim Goldberg – Photographer

I have decided to further experiment with the ideas that I have already been focusing on with the previous few photoshoot. Rather than continuing to focus on just the concept of food content in wrong packaging, I wanted to take it further and do food content in the wrong enviroment – the examples that I will experiment with is a TV/Microwave dinner in a formal place setting with proffestional cutlery and napkins in contrast to a formal meal in an informal place setting, such as in front of the TV.
This means it further links back to my brief of experimenting with not only food but the dining aspect of it also. I have decided to look at the photographer and artist Jim Goldberg as some of his work focuses on contrasting situations. They are not nessasarily linked to food but to society and how it has changed.

Jim Goldberg – born in 1953, is an American photographer and writer, whose work reflects long-term, in-depth recordings of neglected, ignored and “outside-the-mainstream” populations. In Goldberg’s style he uses different media when creating an image such as writing over the top of an image or underneath it. All of the writings are relevent to the situation or are the words spoken by the person concerned within the image. Some of the text is even writen by the persons within the image.

Some of his most recognised works are
‘Rich and Poor’ 1985
‘Nursing Home raised by Wolves’ 1995
‘Rich and Poor’ was and still is considered one of the greatest photobooks of the 20th century.
and ‘Hospice, and Open See’ 2009

I decided to attempt to recreate a Jim Goldberg image for myself but using food. I focused on some of images from previous shoots that focused on incorrect content and packaging. This emphasises the ideas of a ‘wish society’ that Jim Goldberg can be seen to attempt to capture.
To go about creating this image, I attempted two methods.

The first method I used was creating some written text on Microsoft Word that focused around the topic. Once I had written text that spanned about half a page, I printed it onto plain A4 paper and then scanned it in alongside the acetate image. The scanning caused the two objects to come together to create one image which looked good.

I then further went onto Photoshop and created a desaturated version alongside the colour. I wanted to have two contrasting options that I could use for this piece of experimentation that were opposite to each other. This clearly showed which image would be better to use for the final image of this recreation.

The second method that I chose to experiment with was printing the image onto acetate, in order to allow light easily through the image, and then writing over the top with permanant marker. To start, I began experimenting with memorable phrases that I could use to write over the top of the acetate using the permanant marker. Once I came up with the final idea of my written work, I wrote it onto the printed image with a permanant marker. I then scanned this image into the scanner in order to create a good effect due to the light and material used for the image. The image was projected really well against the scanner, and the use of a hand written message rather than the typed also added a personal feeling to it.

Overall, I believe that this experimentation was good and relevent to my project. The use of the artist inspiration also helped to push this idea forward and I would be interested in experimenting with this type of mixed media again during the rest of the project.

Here is the contact sheet for this experimentation of Jim Goldberg.

Leave a Reply

